Like this site? Consider a small donation to help keep it running!

Choose currency

Enter amount

Band Of The Day: Loviatar

Prosthetic Records

Here is some very hard rock from the north – pretty good stuff – progmetal fans will like these guys. Looking forward to seeing them on tour!

Canadian four-piece LOVIATAR will be releasing their self-titled debut full-length album on July 28, 2017 via Prosthetic Records.  

LOVIATAR‘s new self-titled album features two monolithic tracks: the aforementioned “Stygian Wyrm” (broken down into three parts for the digital release) and “Blind Goddess of the Nine Plagues”. It will be available on all digital platforms, digipack CD and a limited edition gold and black swirl LP. Pre-orders are available here:

Take a listen to their tracks “Nascent” and “Discordant” via the link below. 

The band comments on the track, “‘Discordant” is the second movement of the “Stygian Wyrm” trilogy, and an exercise in non-linear storytelling. The first part of the song focuses on a wealthy lord who sacrifices his lands, subjects and family to the death goddess for the promise of glory and purpose. The latter half of the song inserts itself into the narrative of “Nascent”, continuing the dragon’s story.”

Videos – Prosthetic Records

LOVIATAR borrow equally from the hazy gloom of My Bloody Valentine and the crushing riffs of Isis. Formed in 2010, LOVIATAR have independently released a series of singles and EPs, and have been tapped to support such acts as Red Fang, Skeletonwitch, and Blood Ceremony. With clearly sung vocals and equal parts somber and soaring, their thunderous elements of doom and post-metal contrast with hypnotic moments of atmospheric introspection to set them apart from others in the genre.


LOVIATAR Track Listing:

  1. Nascent (StygianWyrmPart I) – 6:11
  2. Discordant (StygianWyrmPart II) – 3:39
  3. Ascendant (StygianWyrmPart III) – 8:07
  4. Blind Goddess of the Nine Plagues – 19:03



JD: Vocal, Rhythm Guitar

JP Sadek: Drums, Backing Vocal

Shane Whitbread: Lead Guitar

Mike Bond: Bass



  • Eternal Sons (Single) 2011
  • Widows Flame (EP) 2012
  • Druid’s Curse (EP) 2013
  • Diva’s Hymn (Single) 2014
  • Loviatar (LP) 2017


LOVIATAR online:


Comments are closed.